Bloom’s Taxonomy for a digital age

We’re currently working on a project to create a resource to assist teachers in using Bloom’s Taxonomy while integrating digital tools in the classroom and teaching specific digital subjects. It would be great to get input from teachers who have done this successfully, in particular examples or case studies from the classroom. Use the comment function below or drop me a mail if you’d like to contribute.

Bloom’s: A Recap

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a multi-layered model of classifying thinking according to six levels of complexity. These six layers form a subset of the three main domains: cognitive, affective and sensory areas.

Bloom’s taxonomy as a learning process is interdependent:

  • Before we can understand a concept, we need to remember it
  • Before we can apply a concept, we must understand it 
  • Before we analyse it, we must be able to apply it
  • Before we can evaluate its impact, we must have analysed it. 
  • Before we can create, we must have remembered, understood, applied, analysed and evaluated.

The six degrees or cognitive levels include remembering, understanding, applying, analysing, evaluating and creating.

  • Remembering – recalling information from long term memory
  • Understanding – constructing meaning through interpreting and summarising information
  • Applying – implementing what was learnt in remembering and understanding phase
  • Analysing – breaking material into constituent parts and establishing how they relate to one another
  • Evaluating – making judgements based on criteria and standards through checking and critiquing
  • Creating – putting elements together to form a coherent or functional whole. 
Bloom's Taxonomy
Bloom’s Taxonomy

Example 1: Traditional Classroom

In a junior primary language classroom, this could take the form of the following:

  • Remembering: Teaching learners the alphabet through rote learning 
  • Understanding: There is a realisation that words are constructed from selected letters from the alphabet. For example, selected letters from the alphabet are put together to form your name 
  • Applying: Making use of the alphabet to write, spell, construct words 
  • Analysing: Making use of the alphabet to form sentences 
  • Evaluating: Determining that the alphabet can be used as a form of communication
  • Creating: Having the ability to construct sentences from various words learnt, to communicate an idea

How would this change in a digitally-focused classroom? Or in a subject such as coding? How can Bloom’s be used in an online course or to teach useful skills for a digital environment?

Would you agree that

digital aspect is merely an addition to Bloom’s Tax and not something new, to highlight that the six cognitive levels have not in fact changed, however the addition is adding digital tools in exercising these cognitive levels.

It is also good to make a distinction that Bloom’s digital taxonomy is in fact just Bloom’s Taxonomy accommodating digital tools to aid the six cognitive levels already established?

For example, at level 1, learners are required to remember something by means of rote learning, while in a digital sphere, learners will be required to utilise digital tools such as bookmarking to be the equivalent to remembering. Fast forward to the highest level of thinking, learners are required to make something, in the digital age, they are required to use a digital tool to credit their creativity.

Leave a Reply